Staying Safe on Your Big Trip

Travelling overseas is an exciting prospect for most people. You get to experience new places in the world, meet interesting and diverse people and push yourself to grow as a person. But travelling, especially on your own, comes with some risk – as with all the best things in life. If you’re an adventurer you might go skiing or rock-climbing, both of which involve the risk of personal injury. Or perhaps you’re more of a city person, sticking to the metropolitan areas of various countries, here you might run into some sort of crime or loss of luggage.

Even before you leave for your trip there are risks in everyday life that could mean you may have to cancel your trip at the last minute. There could be severe weather warnings or a natural disaster in the country to which you are travelling, or you could injure yourself in the weeks leading up to your trip.

Despite all of the risks that come with travelling, it is still a wonderful experience that is beneficial in so many ways. So rather than letting the risk factor stop you from seeing the many wonders that life has to offer, you simply need to protect yourself from the risk slightly. One way to do this is to purchase travel insurance, that way you can protect not only yourself but also the financial investment you have put into your trip.

Why Purchase Travel Insurance Online?

In just over a month, I am heading off on a five week trip to Europe. I’m spending the majority of my time staying with family just outside of Edinburgh, Scotland, and am then travelling solo around London and Paris. I want to be able to go on this trip with the peace of mind of knowing that if there is an emergency, I will not have to fork out my life savings to get myself home.

Purchasing travel insurance online is simple and it literally takes two minutes, maybe five if you spend a little bit of extra time trying to get the best deal you can.

Comparing Travel Insurance Online.

All you need to do this is a computer or tablet with internet access and a credit or debit card.

A good website to use if Compare the Market. From the home page you simply click ‘Travel’ in the menu bar at the top.

screen grab 1

The site then takes you to a new screen that will ask you some simple questions about your trips such as who is travelling and what kind of trip it is.

screen grab 2

After this step you’ll be taken to a new screen where you will be asked more specific questions such as your date of birth etc. Then all you have to do is hit ‘Compare’ and you’ll be given a list of insurance options. You can choose between ‘Comprehensive’, ‘Mid Range’ or ‘Basic’ cover. From the list provided you can choose whichever option you like and click on ‘Continue to Insurer’ and you’ll be taken to that specific company’s site where you can read the finer details and decide whether that is the right insurance for you.

screen grab 3

Check Out Other Options.

Be sure to check out other insurance companies and do a little bit of comparing of your own in order to get the best deal for you. If the cheapest is what you’re after then you can certainly choose the cheapest on this list, but perhaps there are other options that will make you feel slightly more secure. It may be the case that the company you insure your house or car with has a deal that allows you to add travel insurance at a discounted rate. Do a little shopping around, and remember that it might be worth it to spend a little extra money if it means that your excess is lower or your cover is slightly higher. A few extra dollars can go a long way.

I did this using the RACV, an insurance company that I know and trust. I have used this company before and had a positive experience when making a claim. I easily found on their website (by answering similar questions to those on Compare the Market) that for only slightly more money I could get better benefits if for any reason I have to cancel my trip prior to my departure date, with a lower excess. As I know this is a company that I can trust and I have made insurance claims with them in the past, I decided that this was the best option for me.

Now that I have my insurance sorted I can start to get even more excited about my upcoming trip, and I can do it with the peace of mind that travel insurance brings.

5 thoughts on “Staying Safe on Your Big Trip

  1. Thanks for the tips Kate – I am planning a big trip next year and will definately check out the compare the market links you’ve posted. Cheers!

    Like

  2. I am planning a trip to Japan this year and found this advice incredibly helpful. I’ve never arranged travel insurance before, thinking that it would be a pain, but your post shows me that it doesn’t have to be and that it’s actually quite essential.

    Like

  3. As someone who has recently travelled overseas, I can say that it is FAR easier to organise travel insurance before you leave on a trip. On my way to India earlier this month, I realised during a stopover in Kuala Lumpur that I’d forgotten to organise my insurance at home. When I found an appropriate cover and tried to pay for it, I received a message that told me I was ineligible – my IP address had given me away and told the insurance company that I was already overseas. Eventually, I did find a company that would cover me, but the cover was expensive and wouldn’t be effective for the first three days of my trip. I will certainly use these tips next time I travel and hopefully I’ll be a little more organised. Enjoy your trip!

    Like

  4. Thank you for the tips Kate! I am planning a trip at the end of the year and this was a great reminder to what I need to be thinking about . . . I’ve never organised travel insurance before so I will definitely check out compare the market! Have a safe trip!

    Like

Leave a Reply

