How to get Instagram Famous

Want acknowledgement? Want to be a superstar? Want randoms from all over the world to like your photos for no apparent reason? Welcome to the 21st century. Where the internet is your gateway to instant gratification. Follow these hot tips to get the most likes and followers and you’ll be just like Kim Kardashian…not, but you’ll totally get more popular.

giphy32

To achieve Instagram fame, you will require a smartphone with a built-in camera, the Instagram app and a vague idea of how to use it. If you’re a 90 year old man called Graham who remembers the good old days where your primary mode of communication was two tin cans and a piece of string, and you think that icons on the app look like ancient Egyptian Hieroglyphics then start your journey here. However, if you left Graham back at the nursing home, please continue.

 

Werk those apps

Instagram is great for filtering photos. But there are apps that do more than just filter. Taken a photo but you look like shit? Old mate Kimmy K recommends Perfect 365, this app can give you a realistic makeover in seconds.

perfection-in-one-ta

Shout out goes to Photo Lab. If you’re the arty type, this app might be your cup of tea. There are numerous app that can transform your photos. Check out this list of popular apps for further options.

 

Pick a theme

Having a theme to tie your photos all together can make your overall feed look professional and less like a self-obsessed millennial (unless that’s what you’re going for). It can be as simple as a colour scheme, using a specific filter or something more complex. Some common themes are fitness, health, food ect.

McKenna Kaelin uses a white colour scheme.

For inspiration you can check out other popular Instagrammers.

 

Know your hashtags

This is the most important piece of advice I can give. A hashtag is a # followed by word. The hashtags link relevant content and Instagrammers use the tags to search on the app. By including popular hash tags, you increase the chances of users finding your post. The more popular the hash tags you use, the more people will see your post and the more likes you will receive.

Hashtags-Engagement-4211

 

Master your hash tag, but use them wisely. Only use hash tags that are relevant, you don’t want to piss people off. Here’s a list of popular hash tags to get you started.

 

Post regularly

Posting regularly keeps people interested in what you’re doing, however it’s important not to over post. You don’t want to be that annoying person. Posting too much will leave you in the unfollow zone. The internet gods have told me that two is the magic number when posting on social media. Posting at least once a day will keep people interested and increases traffic to your account.

giphy31It’s also good to post after 5 pm. During the work day people aren’t as active on their mobiles. By posting after work hours you increase your chances of being noticed.

And finally…

Spell check

Don’t look like a fool. Proofread your posts!

penguinenhanced-buzz-13523-1387561790-47

I think I’ve made my point.

 

So, there you have it. I hope these tips get you the recognition you deserve. One last piece of advice, don’t be afraid to practice the art of the selfie. Here’s a great guide on How to take the perfect selfie.

star

Are you already an Instagram superstar? Share your tips in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “How to get Instagram Famous

  1. I’ll be sure to keep this in mind if I’m ever feeling like I need more love. The hashtag is definitely a great idea if you want to bring in people you don’t know. And I can’t stop laughing at that bird in tuxedo picture, how embarrassing! Spell check is definitely important!

    Like

  2. I haven’t wanted to be Instagram famous, but you’ve made it seem something achievable and even rational. That’s what a set of simple steps, well explained with some cute gifs, will get you.

    Best of all, you’ve explained hashtags to me (many people have tried and failed) and I’m grateful to you. I will now pass the information on to Graham and the rest of us here in the old folks’ home.

    Like

  3. I’ve tried with Instagram, I really have. Either I’m too entrenched in the social media I already know, or, in my late twenties I have become old. I hope it’s the former, not the latter. I’m too young to be bemoaning the narcissism of the youth today and shaking my fists at clouds.
    I think I’ll have to give it one more try, using your step by step guide of course. YASSSSSSS. SLAAAAAAAAAY. QUEEEEEEEEEEN. See, I’m down with the kids. I’m certifiably lit already.

    Like

  4. Great post! I’m still working on my Instagram and I only just figured out the use of hashtags; I keep thinking I use too many by the end of it and start deleting a few. Maybe I’m just not for Instagram, I think I don’t post consistently enough so create a decent following. But with your instructions, I feel like I may have a chance (or maybe just only in my dreams)!

    Like

Leave a Reply

