Five favourite independent lingerie brands to die for

Every morning I scroll through my Instagram feed and swoon over images of lingerie. Not because I find the images titillating; having studied lingerie design, I admire the delicate laces and embroidery, the soft silks and satins and mostly, the unique designs that are coming out of these one-woman businesses who are often designing and creating their lingerie collections on their kitchen tables or in their home studios.

There is something delectable and mysterious about lingerie; how the fabric, workmanship, and functionality remain largely unseen from outside eyes, with only the wearer knowing what lies beneath their layers of clothes.

lace-876415_1280

 

Here are five indie lingerie designers who stand out for their aesthetic and originality.

Dotties Delights

Based in Nashville, USA

I was fortunate enough to intern with Stephanie, the owner of Dottie’s Delights, at her Chicago studio in 2014 before she moved her studio to Nashville. She sources many of the vintage silks and mixes them with stretch mesh to create modern collections, combining mid-century aesthetic with functionality. Her collections include bras, knickers, babydolls, slips and cinchers.

Screen Shot 2017-05-06 at 4.15.51 PM

My favourite piece:

Everything in the sugar pop collection. I love most things pink. Add some spots, embroidery, and lace and I am all yours. Playful and fun.

Soda pop collection Dottie's Delights

Image courtesy of Dottie’s Delights Lingerie

Sugar lace lingerie

Based in New Mexico, USA

I first discovered Sugar Lace lingerie while scouring Instagram a few years back and I have watched Sugar Lace grow to a massive following.  Many of her pieces are inspired by 1950s lingerie, with explosions of nylon and pastel hues. Her creations remind me of candy; lots of puffs, frothy frills and pom poms.

sugarlacebabydollImage courtesy of Sugar Lace Lingerie

Favourite piece:

I couldn’t pin down a favourite, it was too hard to choose as I love them all, but if I was forced to choose, it would be this matching bodysuit with frilly garter.

il_570xN.770988201_38z3Image Image courtesy of Sugar Lace Lingerie on Etsy

Hopeless Lingerie

Based in Melbourne, Australia

What started as a collection of vintage-inspired lingerie pieces in silk and bamboo, evolved over the years into predominantly black designs featuring mesh, as well as organic materials such as bamboo and modal, inspired by designer Gabby’s love of B-grade films.

559614_10152377279242447_9113933862233321947_nImage courtesy of Hopeless Lingerie

Favourite piece:

A most unusual design, the Madeleine nighty in black mesh with gold hardware is an outstanding piece.

Cut_out_Nightie_Madeleine_by_Hopeless_Lingerie_1024x1024Image courtesy of Hopeless Lingerie

Knickerocker

Based in London, UK

Knickerocker not only make playful underwear that lives up to its namesake but also playful tops and mini dresses. Most of the designs fun designs such as cupcakes with animals featuring ears for extra cuteness.

foxsetImage courtesy of Knickerocker on Etsy

Favourite piece:

I love cupcakes and I love frills, so this is the perfect combination for me. Best worn as a gorgeous little secret under a summer dress.

cupcake from etsy.jpgImage courtesy of Knickerocker on Etsy

Karolina Laskowska Lingerie

Based in London, UK

Karolina’s pieces are timeless. The amount of work that goes into her unique designs would probably make your head explode. Her pieces are high end, incorporating gorgeous French lace into truly unique pieces.

Screen Shot 2017-05-06 at 5.23.18 PM.pngImage courtesy of Karolina Kowska on Instagram

There isn’t anything like her designs out there in the lingerie world. Stand out pieces include her one-of-a-kind bra designs. She also makes corsets with stunning details. Like the Chandalier corset above, featuring bobbinet tulle and layers of silk lace and Chantilly French lace

My favourite piece:

Karolina’s signature lace pieces are to die for. This matching Cassiopeia Longline French Lace Bra and underwear set epitomises her work of art.

Screen Shot 2017-05-06 at 5.23.04 PM.png

Image courtesy of Karolina Kowska on Instagram

These are just a few examples of the lingerie brands available online. The variety of brands and designs available, which has exploded with the advent of social media, means that the choices available to customers in the world of lingerie is now vastly greater than ever, today.

7 thoughts on “Five favourite independent lingerie brands to die for

  1. Wow, Knickerocker has some incredibly cute stuff! I’m especially fond of all the animal ears—what an amazing idea to set their business apart. They’re also one of very few places I’ve seen that sell crop tops with sleeves. I could easily picture her designs on a site like ASOS, and I love that she resists expansion past her one-woman little Etsy site. Indie undies for the win.

    Like

  2. I am so fascinated that you studied lingerie design and interned with Dottie Delights. Have you blogged about these topics a lot? I found this post so interesting so I’d love to read more. Hopeless Lingerie has definitely caught my eye—the designs have elegance and attitude, not to mention being local—so I’ll be checking them out for sure!

    Like

  3. It is incredible that something so beautiful rarely gets seen! I guess wearing lace pieces really are for the individual (and maybe a special other). I am so fascinated that you studied lingerie design. Are you still involved in this industry? I loved reading your opinions, you have very good taste!

    Like

  4. Absolutely stunning! Thank you for reminding me of the brands I love, Hopeless Lingerie and Knickerocker, and for introducing me to so many more gorgeous ones. I’ll definitely be looking into Karolina Laskowska Lingerie. 💘✨

    Like

  5. I love Knickerocker! Their designs are so cute, not to mention confidence-boosting. I’ll admit I haven’t heard of Dotties Delights before, but I’ll be sure to check them out because the style you have featured from them look incredibly vintage chic! Love it!

    Like

  6. I have never heard of any of these brands before. Thank you for introducing me to them, as well as to artistic lingerie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

