Neflix Gold: I Don’t Feel At Home In This World Anymore

I Don’t Feel at Home In This World Anymore is an unfolding existential crises and a search for morality when everybody seems to put themselves first.

For me, the heart of this crime comedy is about finding tenderness in a world full of ‘arseholes.’

Melanie Lynskey (Heavenly Creatures) plays Ruth: A depressed nurse, ground down by an uncaring world, who reaches a breaking point when her house is robbed.

car window

She decides to take things into her own hands after the police blame her for the robbery and do nothing to help her.

Ruth’s search for the significance of her existence leads her into increasingly bizarre and dangerous situations. Accompanying her is Elijah Wood (Lord of the rings) who plays Tony: her weapon enthusiast neighbour with a hilarious rat-tail.

rattailcaption

Together they make the most clueless and polite vigilantes you have ever seen.

I Don’t Feel at Home In This World Anymore was the winner of the Grand Jury Prize at the 2017 Sundance Awards ceremony. Boy, was it a ride to watch. While seemingly a typical story of civilian seeking justice, the mellow tone, the dark humour and the social commentary makes it a memorable film. It played with expectations and had a good emotional payoff.

This is Macon Blair’s directorial debut. He also wrote it and had a small cameo at the beginning as the enemy of all book lovers.

book spoil caption

If you don’t recognise his name, he stared in and co-produced the nail-biting horror Green Room and was a co-writer on the recent Netflix thriller Small Crimes.

Fair wanting kiddo, this film is not a PG funfair. It has a few shockingly violent scenes which boarders on grotesque and humorous. While I didn’t find it too bad, I would not recommend it to anybody who is squeamish.

I Don’t Feel at Home In This World Anymore is available to watch on Netflix

10 thoughts on “Neflix Gold: I Don’t Feel At Home In This World Anymore

  1. I am always on the lookout for interesting films to watch in my downtime. I am particularly impartial to dark/black humour. This looks interesting. I am a bit squeamish so I will be sure to turn away during those scenes. Thanks for the warning 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a very intriguing show. Personally, I find that I simply don’t have the time to binge on Netflix, specifically eight episodes per season. So, I end up watching feature length movies. In saying that, when something special comes along, like Breaking Bad, I make time. And with a slew of quality shows increasing exponentially, sometimes it’s hard picking the right show to invest your time in. Upon your recommendation, I’ll definitely give it serious consideration.

    Like

  3. Damn, I was already looking forward to watching this, but this has made it a matter that has to be dealt with immediately. So thanks for ruining my study plans for the rest of the night. Love these edits of the screen caps and the fact that you think of Melanie Lynskey as being from Heavenly Creatures rather than Two and a Half Men. (I’m going to pretend I do too from now on. I am a pile of trash.)

    Great review! Definitely had the perfect balance of offering enough of the story up to garner intrigue without playing the role of Macon Blair in the scene you described. Thanks for the read!

    Like

  4. This movie sounds like the book I have been wanting to read yet haven’t found yet. You had me at depressed nurse. After a particularity bad incident in my life recently I have been looking for my own meaning in life and insight into the world of nurses. The fact that this is dark humour means its bumped up onto my must do list, and will be great for the night spent with my friend, if not a way to procrastinate. Thanks for the recommendation.

    Like

  5. You had me at ‘Elijah Wood’…

    But seriously, you’ve got me hooked on this even though I’ve never seen a scene of it. Or heard of it before. But from your descriptions it sounds like exactly the thing I’ve been looking for to watch while walking that thin line between a well earned study break and the most dangerous procrastination practices.

    I remember a sad time before Netflix when the world didn’t seem to embrace the movies and shows that were wrapped in deliciously dark humor with the love they deserved (one of my favorites was cancelled after two seasons. I’m still bitter) and I am delighted that we’re getting more shows like this.

    Thank you for the review and recommendation ❤

    Like

  6. I am really looking forward to getting stuck into this. Being a 9 on the Enneagram (Google it if you’re not sure what I’m on about), vagueing-out and binge-watching Netflix is my go-to for stress relief. We are just finished our last two binge-fests (Better Call Saul and Designated Survivor) so super keen to start something new. Thanks again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

